US Data Center News & Briefings
Power, grid, permits & projects across every US county — verified, cited, updated daily.
VA · State profile

Virginia Data Center Intel

Latest data center news, projects, power and policy across Virginia — updated daily.

Virginia · Construction & power moves · 40

full tracker →

Land, power, and interconnection moves across Virginia — each traced to primary filings.

Dominion Energy substation expansion denied and withdrawn
approval failure · Virginia · Fauquier County · 1 primary filing
Dominion four new substations for Culpeper Tech Zone
substation transmission · Virginia · Culpeper County · 1 primary filing
Albemarle County paused Data Center Ordinance update
legislation regulation · Virginia · Albemarle County · 1 primary filing
Albemarle County adopted Comprehensive Plan AC44
legislation regulation · Virginia · Albemarle County · 1 primary filing
Louisa County considers $42 million Edgecore data center performance agreement at Shannon Hill
large load agreement · Virginia · Louisa County · 1 primary filing
SCC order requires data centers to pay minimum shares of Virginia grid costs
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Orange County approves Technology zoning district allowing data center rezoning
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Remington Technology Park LP files 13-gas-turbine onsite power plant for Remington data center
self generation · Virginia · Fauquier County · 1 primary filing
FirstEnergy proposes 14-mile, 138 kV Page-Sperryville line rebuild in Rappahannock County
legislation regulation · Virginia · Page County, Rappahannock County · 1 primary filing
Strata Energy resubmitted Maroon Solar CUP
project pipeline · Virginia · Culpeper County · 1 primary filing
115-mile, 765 kV Joshua Falls–Yeat line
substation transmission · Virginia · Culpeper County · 1 primary filing
the Distributed Generation Expansion act
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Dominion Energy to rebuild 20 miles of Charlottesville-Gordonsville line as double-circuit 230 kV in Virginia
substation transmission · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Dominion Energy signed and requested 70 GW of electricity for data centers in Virginia
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Google has invested over 500 MW of new energy capacity in Virginia
land power acquisition · Virginia · Loudoun County, Prince William County · 1 primary filing
FirstEnergy and Rappahannock Electric Coop will give the Board of Supervisors an update on the project
substation transmission · Virginia · Page County, Rappahannock County · 1 primary filing
Remington Digital Campus application expected in July 2026
project pipeline · Virginia · Fauquier County · 1 primary filing
Williams Co. offered $500 for Quantico Lateral survey access
land power acquisition · Virginia · Fauquier County · 1 primary filing
PointOne revised Remington Tech Park to natural gas fuel cells
self generation · Virginia · Fauquier County · 2 primary filings
move acquisition/option language out; use supported action only
substation transmission · Virginia · Fauquier County · 1 primary filing
Strata Energy withdrew Maroon Solar application
approval failure · Virginia · Culpeper County · 2 primary filings
Dominion Energy posted potential routes for the 765-kilovolt Joshua Falls-Yeat transmission line
substation transmission · Virginia · Clarke County · 2 primary filings
Dominion Energy acquired 85 acres adjoining Morrisville substation
land power acquisition · Virginia · Fauquier County · 1 primary filing
Virginia General Assembly passes Distributed Generation Expansion Act for Dominion Energy 1 GW built-environment solar
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Dominion Energy reports 70+ GW of data-center requests and 233 substations in Virginia
substation transmission · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Valley Link Transmission LLC proposed 115-mile Joshua Falls-Yeat transmission line in Virginia
substation transmission · Virginia · Buckingham County, Fluvanna County · 3 primary filings
Virginia SCC Rider T1 case (PUR-2026-00056) to allocate ~$6–12B data-center transmission cost between data centers and ratepayers Jun 25, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Virginia leaders continue $2-billion-per-year data center tax exemption; propose electricity use tax Jun 23, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Dominion Energy agreed to supply 51 GW of contracted power to future data centers in Virginia Jun 18, 2026
large load agreement · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Piedmont Environmental Council and partners permanently protect 274-acre Long Acre Farm Jun 15, 2026
project pipeline · Virginia · Greene County · 1 primary filing
PEC urges Virginia legislators to pause data center approvals Jun 10, 2026
large load agreement · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Valley Link Transmission proposed 765 kV Joshua Falls–Yeat line across nine Virginia counties May 19, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · Appomattox County, Buckingham County, Campbell County, Culpeper County, Fauquier County, Fluvanna County, Goochland County, Louisa County, Orange County, Spotsylvania County · 1 primary filing
Valley Link Transmission proposed 115-mile, 765 kV Joshua Falls–Yeat transmission line across nine Virginia counties May 13, 2026
substation transmission · Virginia · 1 primary filing
PJM Dominion zone summer peak load reached 23,905 MW in 2025 May 5, 2026
interconnection queue · Virginia · 1 primary filing
PEC intervenes in Dominion Energy net metering SCC case May 1, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Piedmont Environmental Council cites Vantage Data Center on-site power system, Loudoun County Apr 29, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · Loudoun County · 1 primary filing
1 GW solar on previously disturbed sites Apr 16, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
PEC says 12 energy bills were adopted into Virginia law Apr 16, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · 1 primary filing
Clearing and grading before site plan approval for Culpeper Technology Campus Apr 2, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · Culpeper County · 1 primary filing
Virginia Court of Appeals blocks Prince William Digital Gateway Apr 1, 2026
legislation regulation · Virginia · Prince William County · 1 primary filing

Top JUST IN — Virginia

  • Sep 11, 2026 · interconnection filing

    PJM proposes reliability standards for large-load ride-through (no docket)

    Source: PJM Inside Lines · Sep 10, 2026

    PJM Inside Lines reports that PJM has proposed new interconnection reliability requirements for large loads, including data centers and crypto-mining facilities, to require facilities to stay connected during grid disturbances and “riding through” voltage and frequency excursions. The article says the proposal responds to a June 18 FERC order and that “PJM plans to file proposed solutions to FERC in November.”

    Backed by 1 primary filing — sign in or book a call to see all sources.

  • Aug 12, 2026 · interconnection filing

    PJM, Dominion Review Large Load Transfer Event

    Source: PJM Inside Lines · Aug 11, 2026

    PJM Inside Lines reports that PJM is reviewing changes to interconnection reliability requirements for Large Loads after a July 22 event in Virginia in which “nearly 4,000 MW of data center load trip offline unexpectedly.” The article also says FERC ordered NERC to create enforceable Reliability Standards for computational loads and that the first phase of new enforcement provisions is due Dec. 31, 2026.

    Backed by 1 primary filing — sign in or book a call to see all sources.

  • Aug 2, 2026 · interconnection filing

    Opening Statement of Commissioner Christie to House Subcommittee on Energy, Climate, and Grid Security

    Source: FERC

    FERC Commissioner Christie warned that U.S. grid reliability faces “potentially catastrophic consequences” as “unprecedented forecasts for demand increases” from “data centers, including Artificial Intelligence (AI)” collide with fast-retiring dispatchable generation and policy pressure. In PJM, he said, “PJM faces unprecedented load growth due to the proliferation of data centers,” while also noting that EPA power-plant rules could “forcibly” accelerate coal retirements and make new gas generation “extremely difficult, if not virtually impossible” to build. Christie also said the PJM interconnection queue “largely consists of intermittent generation, primarily wind and solar,” and that legal challenges are delaying needed natural-gas pipeline infrastructure.

    Backed by 1 primary filing — sign in or book a call to see all sources.

Recent Virginia data center news

  • Soluna CEO on Stranded Renewables, AI Data Centers, and a 'Grid Revolution'

    Soluna Holdings is expanding its co-located renewable-powered data center model from bitcoin mining into AI, announcing a multi-site buildout including Project Kati and Project Dorothy and a 3-gigawatt project pipeline.

    • Main announcement/action: Soluna is transitioning from bitcoin-focused facilities to AI/high-performance computing campuses co-located with utility-scale wind and solar plants; key project details include a 3-gigawatt pipeline, Project Kati (166 MW planned over two phases; Kati 1 initial energization with phased commissioning through 2026; 83 MW bitcoin side; starting with 100 MW AI capacity and planned scale to >300 MW), and Project Dorothy (operational, providing 98 MW for Bitcoin hosting at two Texas sites; expanded partnership with Blockware adding 6 MW to Dorothy 1).
    • Background and implementation details: The model monetizes curtailed/stranded renewable generation by buying excess power from host plants, Soluna claims its builds are 18% cleaner than traditional data centers, targets single-tenant hyperscalers and neo-clouds on long-term contracts, and prioritizes AI training workloads (batchable, remote) rather than low-latency inference; utilities and transmission constraints (e.g., California 3.4 TWh curtailed cited) are central to the rationale.
  • An Electric Super-Highway Through the Piedmont

    Valley Link Transmission has proposed the 115-mile, 765 kV “Joshua Falls-Yeat” transmission line across central Virginia to deliver power to Dominion Energy’s growing queue of data centers and plans to file for a certificate of public convenience and necessity (CPCN) with the Virginia SCC in summer 2026.

    • Project details: Proposed 115 miles, 765 kV, 200-foot cleared corridor, typical towers ~160 feet tall, over 400 towers, and the proposal would clear over 2,500 acres; Valley Link plans to file with the SCC in summer 2026 and install and energize the line by the end of 2029 to deliver power toward Northern Virginia data centers.
    • Background and timeline: Project proposed by joint venture Valley Link Transmission (Dominion Energy, Transource, FirstEnergy Transmission); PJM selected Joshua Falls-Yeat in Feb 2025 as part of its RTEP; PJM projected local peak growing to ~33 GW by 2030, Dominion told the SCC it has requests to serve over 70 GW, and PJM’s recommended transmission investment rose from $920 million (2021 baseline) to almost $12 billion (2025 RTEP).
  • Sam Altman’s Water Defense: Inside OpenAI’s Battle Over AI’s True Environmental Cost

    OpenAI CEO Sam Altman publicly pushed back against claims that each ChatGPT query consumes roughly a bottle of water, while acknowledging AI’s substantial energy consumption.

    • Main announcement: Sam Altman denied the viral per-query water statistic, calling it “completely untrue”, but did acknowledge AI’s large energy use; OpenAI did not provide detailed, location- or cooling-method-specific water or energy data in his rebuttal.
    • Background and details: The article cites a UC Riverside study that estimated ~500 milliliters per query on average (and ~700,000 liters for training GPT-3), notes Microsoft’s commitment to spend more than $80 billion on AI-capable data centers in its current fiscal year, records Google’s pledge to operate on “24/7 carbon-free energy across all its data centers by 2030”, and references the IEA’s projection that data center electricity consumption could double by 2026; the Uptime Institute is cited saying average data center lifespans are 20–25 years.
  • Logix Ramps Up Fiber Networks as Texas Data Centers Boom

    Logix Fiber Networks has announced plans to build new high-capacity fiber routes in Texas connecting South Dallas (Wilmer, Red Oak, Lancaster, Midlothian) and the Austin-to-Bastrop County corridor to Dallas-Fort Worth carrier hubs; the company did not disclose the size of the investment.

    • Main action: Logix will build new high-capacity fiber routes in two corridors — South Dallas (serving Wilmer, Red Oak, Lancaster, Midlothian) and the Austin-to-Bastrop County corridor — to connect growth zones to primary carrier hubs in downtown Dallas and Fort Worth; the company operates more than 300,000 fiber miles, serves over 3,000 on-net buildings, and connects to more than 80 third-party data centers. Logix also deploys 400G wavelength services on an 800G backbone statewide. The company did not disclose investment size.
    • Background & context: The announcement cites AI- and cloud-driven growth in both regions: Dallas-Fort Worth counted 190 data centers as of late 2025, with projects including Stack Infrastructure’s 220 MW campus (Lancaster, >100 acres), Google’s $600 million commitments across Red Oak and Midlothian, and QTS Realty Trust’s $650 million planned construction near Wilmer/Lancaster; CBRE projected the DFW market would double to 425.1 MW of colocation activity, and Central Texas saw 463.5 MW of construction in 2023-2024 (Mordor Intelligence valued Austin at 1.54 GW in 2025).
  • JLL: Hyperscale and AI Demand Push North American Data Centers Toward Industrial Scale

    JLL has published the North America Data Center Report Year-End 2025 outlining a shift from cyclical real estate behavior to industrial-scale, infrastructure-like growth in digital infrastructure.

    • Key announcement: JLL’s report finds North America at 39 GW installed capacity (19 GW leased colocation, 20 GW hyperscaler-owned) and 35 GW under construction, with vacancy at 1% and 92% of construction pre-leased; JLL also reports 64% of new builds are in frontier markets and highlights potential for Texas (unified) to surpass Northern Virginia by 2030.
    • Background/details: JLL expanded methodology to include owner-occupied hyperscale capacity and 40+ additional markets, resetting baseline; it documents capital market activity including debt origination rising from $27B (2020) to $92B (2025), a $40B consortium acquisition of Aligned Data Centers (expected 2026 close), a $30B Blue Owl–Meta JV, and $17B of asset-backed securities issuance in 2025; it flags multi-year grid interconnection timelines (avg ~4 years), interim use of mobile natural gas turbines, and rising BESS deployments.
  • Funding Rural Hospitals

    The federal Healthcare Connect Fund (HCF) Program is supporting rural West Virginia hospitals by providing discounted broadband services and network infrastructure to improve connectivity, telehealth, and secure data exchange.

    • Main announcement/action: The HCF Program provides discounts on broadband services and network infrastructure for rural hospitals (examples cited: Roane General Hospital, Logan Regional Medical Center), enabling reliable connectivity for telehealth, electronic medical records (EMR) and secure data exchange. The article reports hospitals have implemented resilient network connectivity and adopted cloud-based technologies with the program’s support.
    • Background and additional details:Alpha Innovations (West Virginia technology firm) and the Institute for Cyber Security at Marshall University provide guidance on modernization, recommending identity-first security architecture, hybrid cloud infrastructure, network segmentation, and automated backup and recovery; the coverage emphasizes that hospitals operate with legacy systems, limited IT staff, and tight budgets, and that the HCF Program reduces financial burden so resources can be reallocated to care and technology upgrades.
  • Internal Value Chains Remain Dependent on China Even as Multinationals Shift Production to America

    The Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF) report argues that although advanced manufacturers from East Asia are expanding investment into the United States, many of their internal value chains remain anchored in China, creating strategic vulnerabilities; it recommends U.S. policymakers pursue both defensive monitoring and offensive financial incentives to reduce PRC leverage.

    • Main findings and concrete examples: The report finds many firms follow China-Plus-One/China-Plus-Many patterns—adding U.S. production without relocating high‑value inputs and IP from China. Case studies include Inventec (phase-one U.S. retrofit; board‑approved $85M expansion; phase-two $50M estimated, completion projected June 2026; Texas plant to ship B300 servers by Q1 2026), LS C&S / LS GreenLink (750,000 sq ft subsea cable factory in Chesapeake estimated at $681 million, broken ground April 2025; a proposed additional Chesapeake factory ~$689 million under feasibility review), and Resonac (consortia- and R&D-focused U.S. engagement while maintaining China‑filed patents and production presence). The report also highlights Fortune Electric (Project Stargate contract ~$63 million) as a target firm for U.S. outreach.
    • Policy recommendations and timelines: ITIF recommends incorporating China‑dependency monitoring into Commerce/ITA work (create a NIST-backed Strategic Dependency Index), tie industrial incentives (CHIPS/IRA/states) to reduced PRC supply‑chain dependency or to matching upstream China capabilities, expand supply‑chain stress testing via the NSC and agencies, and evaluate targeted financial interventions (time-limited subsidies or contingent equity) to induce relocation of critical upstream capabilities. Implementation steps and program adjustments are described as near‑term priorities (analytical and reporting changes immediately; project funding and conditional incentives phased through typical federal/state grant and procurement cycles).
  • Data centers in Ohio: Economic boost or environmental burden?

    House Bill 646 would create a data center study commission to examine data center expansion across Ohio and assess environmental and grid impacts before projects move forward.

    • Main announcement: House Bill 646 proposes a bipartisan data center study commission that will examine environmental effects, electrical grid impacts, water usage, noise, and local economic impacts prior to project approvals; the bill is currently in committee.
    • Background & details: Ohio has about 200 data centers (many clustered in Central Ohio); New Albany has seen 14 companies build more than 68 data centers (about 40 operational). Policy Matters Ohio reports at least $140 million in tax exemptions granted for data center construction and estimates up to $1.6 billion in potential state/local revenue foregone tied to incentives for Amazon, Google and Microsoft. The article cites concerns including a proposed Adams County facility that would use >20x the county’s electricity, potential water use of up to 5 million gallons/day, and reliance on diesel backup generators (sound levels up to 90dB). Microsoft has pledged carbon negative by 2030 and a community-first infrastructure commitment; Amazon aims net-zero by 2040 and to power some operations with nuclear by 2050.
  • Help Get Data Center Reform Legislation Over the Finish Line!

    The Piedmont Environmental Council (PECVA) is urging Virginians to contact their state delegates to support SB619 and SB339 this week.

    • Main announcement/action: PECVA asks supporters to call or write delegates to back SB619 (would require a Certificate of Operation from the SCC for new “high-load facilities” >90 MW after Jan 1, 2027, and mandate SCC review of ratepayer impacts, grid reliability, and environmental impacts) and SB339 (directs SCC to review and adjust transmission cost allocation, with the SCC review due by Jan 1, 2027 and Phase II utilities required to provide three cost-allocation proposals including a Probability of Dispatch option by Jan 1, 2028). The House may vote as early as Feb. 24.
    • Background and details: PECVA cites Dominion Energy data showing contracts topping 70 GW and Dominion’s IRP estimating >$28 billion (USD) in transmission costs to meet 2040 demand; notes Virginia has >500 data centers with roughly 5x that in the pipeline, a current claimed data-center power share of 25-40%, and an existing data center tax exemption exceeding $1.6 billion (USD).
  • Data Center Reform is at the Finish Line: Will the General Assembly Get it Done?

    The Piedmont Environmental Council announced that two data center reform bills, SB 619 and SB 339, survived crossover and are moving through the Virginia General Assembly toward Gov. Spanberger’s desk.

    • Main action: SB 619 would require a Certificate of Operation from the State Corporation Commission (SCC) for any high-load facility needing at least 90 megawatts before grid connection; the bill is expected to be taken up by the House Labor and Commerce Committee next week and aims to introduce state oversight, transparency, and ratepayer protections.
    • Background and implementation details: SB 339 directs the SCC to re-examine transmission cost allocation to protect non-data-center customers, cites potential exposure of $28 billion in transmission costs and $100 to $300 billion in capital expenditures, and requires Dominion to use the Probability of Dispatch methodology in a relevant proceeding prior to January 1, 2028.

Need Virginia-wide diligence on power, zoning, permitting?

Book a 20-min call