US Data Center News & Briefings
Power, grid, permits & projects across every US county — verified, cited, updated daily.
Company

Amazon

Data center news, project activity, and monthly briefings for Amazon.

Recent news

  • Amazon India FY26 Report Card: Loss Balloons 48% YoY, Revenue Inches Closer To ₹40,000 Cr

    Amazon’s India businesses reported FY26 financial results showing higher revenues but larger cumulative losses.

    • Amazon Seller Services posted operating revenue of ₹34,966.8 Cr and net loss of ₹389.9 Cr; Amazon Retail revenue rose to ₹3,065.1 Cr while its net loss widened to ₹1,158.3 Cr.
    • Amazon Pay revenue increased to ₹2,484.4 Cr with net loss of ₹1,148.5 Cr; Amazon Wholesale reduced net loss to ₹96.1 Cr. Amazon also said it plans to invest $3 Bn in quick commerce, $13 Bn more in India by 2030 for AI and cloud infrastructure, and had earlier planned $21 Bn for AI/cloud operations in India between 2026 and 2030.
  • Selector brings Git-based workflows and incident replay to network AI agents

    Selector has announced Foundry, a development and runtime environment for building, testing, versioning, and governing AI agents for network operations inside its platform.

    • Foundry lets customers commit agents to their own Git repository, use existing pull-request workflows, replay agents against historical incident data, and roll back failed promotions in a single step.
    • Selector says the platform includes guardrails for cost/token usage and for limiting conclusions, and that it is also expanding into monitoring neoclouds; the company expects to share customer results within six months.
    • The announcement is presented as a product update from Selector in a Network World article; it references earlier updates to Selector’s NetOps platform and the company’s aim to support interoperability via MCP and A2A.
  • Evan Swarztrauber: The Hidden Supply-Chain Risk Inside America’s AI Data Centers

    This article is an opinion/commentary piece arguing that the FCC should add optical transceivers to its covered list as a national security measure.

    • The author says the FCC is reportedly considering a ban on new Chinese-produced optical transceivers, and argues the move would effectively block foreign-made transceivers from U.S. sale and import without an exemption.
    • It cites earlier incidents, including Iranian drone strikes on Amazon Web Services data centers in the United Arab Emirates and damage to a facility in Bahrain, and references U.S. manufacturing expansion by Applied Optoelectronics, Coherent, and Lumentum; it also mentions a $5 billion rip-and-replace program for telecom equipment.
  • Designing Layered Drone Defenses for Data Centers

    The article is an opinion and guidance piece arguing for stronger drone defenses at data centers; it does not announce a new product, policy, or deal.

    • It says drone activity around critical infrastructure is rising and recommends a layered defense: physical hardening, multi-sensor detection, redundancy, and rehearsed incident response.
    • It cites a spring 2026 drone strike that allegedly disrupted AWS facilities in the Persian Gulf and urges operators to consider site selection, regulatory coordination, and airspace awareness rather than informal no-fly zones.
  • Capex to Consume Nearly All Hyperscaler Operating Cash Flow in 2026

    A technology equity analyst said at the AI Infra Summit in Santa Clara that the four largest hyperscalers are expected to spend $1.8 trillion on capital investments through 2028.

    • The analyst said this is about $600 billion more than the companies’ underlying businesses generate in cash over the same period.
    • The hyperscalers were identified as Alphabet, Amazon, Meta and Microsoft, with single sites drawing 300 megawatts to more than a gigawatt; the article is commentary/reporting from an event, not a company announcement.
  • Datacentres: are we frogs in a digital pot?

    East Anglia Bylines has published an opinion article arguing that AI is worsening datacentre energy and resource use, while the broader growth of cloud computing predates AI.

    • The piece explains that cloud services run on datacentre hardware, and says repatriating systems is costly; one project reportedly saved over 60% by bringing systems back in house, but it took three years.
    • It cites AWS as generating well over half of Amazon’s operating income in 2024, notes AWS’s 28% share of the worldwide cloud infrastructure market, and says server prices are up by a third or more year-on-year as AI demand lifts costs.
  • The amount of e-waste caused by AI is underestimated: we can’t only include the servers

    Basel Action Network has published a report arguing that AI data center equipment replacement is generating far more e-waste than enterprise calculations typically capture.

    • BAN says prior AI e-waste estimates focused mainly on servers and accelerators, which it says are only 13% of a data center’s electromechanical infrastructure; it estimates about 70,000 metric tonnes per GW across five equipment categories including networking, power distribution, storage/backup, and cooling.
    • The report projects 196–211 million metric tonnes of global e-waste per year by 2050, with 31Mt–46Mt attributed to AI waste alone; analysts quoted in the article say some assumptions, especially the 2.5-year accelerator retirement cycle and long-term growth forecasts, may be overstated.
  • SEBI Greenlights Kuku FM’s ₹3,500 Cr IPO

    Kuku FM has reportedly received SEBI approval for its planned IPO after filing its confidential DRHP in June.

    • SEBI issued its observation letter for Kuku Technologies’ offer documents on September 11, indicating the regulator’s go-ahead for the public issue.
    • The IPO is expected to include a fresh issue and an offer-for-sale; sources say it could raise ₹2,500-3,500 Cr and value the company at about ₹15,000 Cr.
    • Kuku said the proceeds would be used to upgrade tech, AI infrastructure, content production, and support geographic expansion.
  • Verizon, Corning Ink Multibillion-Dollar Fiber Deal

    Corning has announced a multibillion-dollar fiber supply deal with Verizon running from 2027 through 2032.

    • Verizon said the agreement will support its plan to expand its fiber footprint to 40-50 million passings and to access more than 80 million miles of fiber.
    • The companies did not disclose the exact dollar amount or other terms; the article also notes similar fiber deals involving Amazon, Meta ($6 billion in January), and NVIDIA ($500 million in May), plus a supply crunch tied to BEAD domestic manufacturing rules.
  • Microsoft inks long-term PPA for Washington solar project

    Microsoft has become the long-term offtaker for electricity and environmental attributes from Cypress Creek Energy’s Ostrea Solar project in Washington, which has reached commercial operation.

    • The Ostrea Solar project in Yakima County, Washington adds 104 MWdc / 80 MWac and is owned and operated by Cypress Creek for up to 40 years; the terms of Microsoft’s agreement were not disclosed.
    • Cypress Creek said the project reflects approximately $180 million in private investment, will generate an estimated $13.3 million in state and local tax revenues, and helped conserve about 275 acres of shrubsteppe habitat; Microsoft’s involvement comes as it expands its AI/data center footprint and reported higher emissions in 2025.
  • Sovereign cloud, managed services: how French providers are rewriting the rules for European mid-market IT

    The article argues that cloud sovereignty has become a procurement criterion for European mid-market CIOs, while highlighting Jiliti as an example of a provider expanding its sovereign managed cloud footprint.

    • The piece says NIS2, DORA, and the proposed Cloud and AI Development Act (CADA) are changing cloud purchasing decisions in Europe, with requirements around auditability, data location, and reversibility.
    • It highlights Jiliti as a French provider that integrated Naitways in 2025 and opened points of presence in Frankfurt and Milan in March 2026; it also cites market figures of €61 billion in European cloud infrastructure revenues in 2024 and over €75 billion expected in 2025.
  • Civil Rights Groups Urge Halt to South Africa Data Center Boom Amid Water and Power Fears

    South African civil rights groups have called for a halt to additional data center construction until the use of scarce water, land, and electricity resources is investigated.

    • The South African Human Rights Commission said it received over 250 submissions after calling for input in May 2026 and is examining electricity, water demand, land use, and environmental impacts tied to data centers.
    • The article cites a proposed Equinix hyperscale facility in Cape Town requiring an estimated 160 megawatts of electricity, while noting Eskom reported a power surplus and operators say most data centers increasingly rely on renewable energy.
  • Global bond sell-off exposes the cost of high debt

    Policy Circle has published an analysis of how rising oil prices, inflation, and heavy borrowing are driving a global government bond sell-off.

    • The article argues that Brent crude above $95 and renewed US-Iran fighting are lifting inflation expectations, pushing US, Japanese, British, and German yields higher, and forcing markets to price in further central bank tightening.
    • It also highlights larger structural pressures: higher sovereign debt, rising defence and pension costs, and competition from technology firms issuing debt for AI/data centres, including about $220 billion from five large tech companies this year.
    • For India, the piece says near 89% crude import dependence makes the economy vulnerable to oil shocks, while the 2036 bond yield was around 6.95% and the RBI’s buffers can only soften volatility, not eliminate imported-energy costs.
  • Amazon signs first Asia Pacific standalone battery storage tolling deal for 50MW BESS in Australia

    Amazon Australia has announced a first standalone battery storage tolling agreement with Anza Power for the 50MW/200MWh Bairnsdale BESS in Victoria.

    • The deal covers the Bairnsdale battery energy storage system in East Gippsland, Victoria, which will connect directly to the electricity grid and dispatch stored power during peak demand.
    • Amazon said this is its first standalone battery storage tolling agreement in APAC and a first-of-its-kind arrangement in Australia for a non-energy business; Anza Power was launched by I Squared Capital in January 2026 with a US$300 million commitment.
    • The article also cites Amazon’s broader Australia activity, including nine PPAs totaling 430MW signed in April 2026, an AU$20 billion (US$13.86 billion) data centre expansion commitment announced in June 2025, and a claim of ten battery storage projects in Australia with 368MW combined capacity once completed.

Tracking Amazon's competitors too?

Book a 20-min call