US Data Center News & Briefings
Power, grid, permits & projects across every US county — verified, cited, updated daily.
Company

SB Energy

Data center news, project activity, and monthly briefings for SB Energy.

Recent news

  • ‘Out of Hyperbole’: Nvidia’s AI Boom Tests Data Center Infrastructure Limits

    Nvidia and AWS have announced an expanded GPU deployment plan, with AWS saying it will deploy 2 million additional Nvidia GPUs across its global infrastructure in 2027 and 2028.

    • AWS said the GPUs will include Blackwell Ultra, Rubin, and Rubin Ultra systems and will support agentic AI, scientific computing, enterprise automation, and physical AI.
    • Nvidia also said AWS had received its first Vera CPU server and Vera Rubin GPU, and that Nvidia will provide credit support for SB Energy’s PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Ohio.
    • The article adds context from analysts on power, cooling, interconnection, and grid constraints; AWS and Nvidia did not disclose capacity or power requirements for the GPU deployment.
    • Nvidia said it would invest $1.5 billion in SB Energy and that the Ohio project is planned for 8 IT GW of capacity for OpenAI, with 4.25 IT GW initially secured by Nvidia and an option for the remaining 3.75 IT GW.
  • NVIDIA, Cloverleaf Partnering to Advance Data Center Development

    NVIDIA and Cloverleaf Infrastructure have announced a strategic partnership to advance digital infrastructure development across the U.S., with NVIDIA also taking a minority stake in Cloverleaf.

    • Cloverleaf said the deal will help it and its utility partners meet rising demand for accelerated computing and will support AI factory development using the NVIDIA DSX Platform.
    • The company said it has already delivered multiple GW-scale projects and that the partnership will help customers evaluate site, power, cooling, computing, and facility tradeoffs within power, water, and grid constraints; financial terms were not disclosed.
    • The article also notes NVIDIA’s earlier $1.5 billion investment in SB Energy for the PORTS-Pike campus in Pike County, Ohio, and says Cloverleaf was founded in 2024 and raised $300 million in its first year.
  • Nvidia scales back financing guarantee for OpenAI data center

    Nvidia has reportedly reduced its planned financial guarantee for a large OpenAI-linked data center project in Ohio, cutting the commitment from as much as $250 billion to less than $120 billion.

    • The revised structure would have Nvidia guarantee financing for the project’s first phase, covering about 5 gigawatts or half of the proposed capacity; financing for the remaining capacity would be considered later.
    • Earlier this month, Nvidia also announced partnerships with Apollo Global Management, BlackRock, Blackstone, Brookfield Asset Management, Goldman Sachs, and KKR to mobilize more than $500 billion in capital for AI computing infrastructure; the project is being developed by SB Energy, a subsidiary of SoftBank. The report frames the change as a restructuring of Nvidia’s role in financing and cites broader concerns about AI infrastructure costs and funding.
  • Nvidia Backs OpenAI’s Ohio Data Center Buildout With $105B Guarantee

    Nvidia has disclosed conditional residual-value guarantees of up to $105 billion for OpenAI’s planned Ohio data center campus, while also saying it is investing $1.5 billion in SB Energy.

    • The guarantees cover an initial 4.25 GW of IT capacity at SB Energy’s PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Pike County, Ohio, with an option to support another 3.75 GW for about 8 GW total.
    • The structure is tied to leased infrastructure under a 20-year lease with OpenAI; Nvidia said OpenAI will reimburse and indemnify it for amounts actually paid, and the actual guarantee agreements are still to be filed in a future quarterly report.
  • Nvidia may invest up to $3 billion in SoftBank's SB Energy for OpenAI data center: Report

    Nvidia is reportedly in talks to invest as much as $3 billion in SB Energy and to provide credit support for an Ohio data center campus linked to OpenAI.

    • The report says Nvidia, OpenAI, and SB Energy are discussing around $100 billion in credit support for the planned Ohio data center campus.
    • Nvidia has discussed investing half of $3 billion after the deal is signed, with the other half tied to SB Energy’s planned IPO; SB Energy is said to target September and at least $5 billion in proceeds.
    • The story is based on reporting from The Information; it also cites The Wall Street Journal saying Nvidia had scaled back its Ohio guarantee to under $120 billion from $250 billion.
  • Texas Governor Halts Data Center Grid Connections Pending Audit

    Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has ordered state electric grid regulators to conduct a sweeping audit of every data center project seeking to connect to the Texas grid.

    • Abbott’s order halts new interconnections until the review is complete and directs ERCOT and the Public Utility Commission of Texas to verify and audit all data center projects moving through the interconnection process.
    • The order requires projects to disclose financial incentives, power source, water supply for cooling, community impact mitigation, and ownership / controlling-interest information; companies including Core Scientific, Vantage Data Centers, SB Energy, Meta, OpenAI, Google, Amazon, Oracle, Digital Realty, QTS Data Centers, Mara and Skybox Datacenters have said they will comply, while one unnamed developer and Diode ended projects.
    • Abbott’s Aug. 3 order builds on a June 10 directive establishing statewide standards, and the story notes Texas has more than 1,800 projects seeking connections and 474 gigawatts of requests, about 90% from data centers.

Tracking SB Energy's competitors too?

Book a 20-min call